Chakra Balancing and Activating the Heart Center

It’s a beautiful day here is Oslo, Norway, on this last day of April. Although it’s still a bit chilly, we’ve been graced with lots of sunshine lately, and many chances of getting out and going for walks in nature. I find spending time in nature and connecting to Mother Earth to be one of the most healing things we can do for ourselves. It’s also very grounding, and that is something that we can definitely benefit from with the intense energies and upgrades that we’re experiencing at the moment as part of our ascension. Connecting to the power of love, and learning to love and appreciate ourselves more is also an important step on the journey. It is my belief that love is the most powerful force in the universe, and is the foundation on which all of life is built. As we begin to move through an ascension process, it is, in my experience, first and foremost our heart center and the capacity to love that is activated above all else.

Although this power of love has always been there for us to access, as a society we have to a large degree been cut off from it. For that reason, once the heart begins to open up, it can make us feel very vulnerable and emotional. Although it’s a beautiful things once we begin to discover that what we all are deep down, is love, it can also be overwhelming and challenging. As the heart center begins to expand and encompass more love, it also brings to the surface all the blocks we have put up around our heart in the attempt to protect ourselves from hurt. We are faced with past pains and traumas, so that we can heal and release them for good. Yet this process also invites us to practice more self-care and self-love than ever before. It helps us to cultivate a deeper connection with our heart and soul, and begins a journey of discovery, or remembrance of who we truly are: magnificent and powerful beings of light and love.

This journey of self-discovery also awakens our deeper psychic senses and we often begin to feel subtle energies more strongly than before. As humans we have an energetic body, where our thoughts and experiences are stored. Energy flows through us and connects different parts of our body, our organs and our physical attributes in an intricate system. Cosmic life-force energy is what fuels us and keeps us alive and healthy, and is affected by how we feel and think. When a person is healthy in mind, body and spirit, our energetic system is strong and flows freely, but when issues arise, be they mental, physical and spiritual, they may cause blocks in our energy flow. Many physical issues start out in our energy body, and are often caused by emotional or mental imbalances or traumas, but when our heart is awakened and we begin our self-love journey, it begins the process of correcting the imbalances in our body, slowly but surely.

Although there are many energy systems in our body, the chakra system is a great place to start, and I find it helpful in gaining a deeper understanding of how our energies work to influence our physical, mental and emotional health. The chakras are psycho spiritual energy centers, that are located along the spine, from the tailbone to the top of the head. There are also other chakras located in other areas of the body, as well as outside of the body, but the 7-chakra system along the spine is the most commonly taught, so I will focus on that system here. Check out the photo above to see where the chakras are located in the body. In addition to being psycho spiritual centers, they are also closely linked with the physical body and specific organs or bodily functions, as well as the endocrine system. The seven chakras are often associated with the colors of the rainbow, as you can see in the picture, but this is a simplification of how they actually appear. Many different colors can appear in the various chakras, so it’s your choice whether you like to work with the rainbow colors, or if you prefer to bring in other colors as well. I think it’s good to use your own intuition and see what colors appear for you when visualizing the various chakras.

As love is the foundation of our universe, and our heart center is our primary point of activation, I like to think of the heart chakra as the foundation of our chakra system. It also serves as the balancing point with three chakras below it and three above it. Our heart chakra is located in the center of our chest, and is the chakra that is connected to the universal love-force. It’s basically our middle chakra where both the masculine and feminine, as well as the physical and spiritual energies converge. Most chakra systems will teach you that the base or root chakra is the foundation for all the other chakras, but I personally feel that it is the heart chakra that is the foundation. If we can start out from a place of love, and particularly love for ourselves, it becomes that much easier to connect to and balance all the other chakras.

When we begin to understand how our energy centers operate and look at where we are experiencing issues, whether they are of a physical, emotional, mental or spiritual nature, we are in a much better position to be able to heal ourselves. Through the chakras we can learn to trust in the abundance of Mother Nature and feel secure in the world (root chakra); connect with our sensual nature, our emotions and need for beauty and pleasure (sacral chakra); take inspired action towards our goals and stay disciplined (solar plexus chakra); connect with love and heal our relationships through gratitude and forgiveness of ourselves and others (heart chakra); express our own authentic self and our creativity (throat chakra); listen to our intuition and follow our inner guidance (third eye chakra); and expand our awareness and connect with Divine Source (crown chakra). For more information about each chakra, feel free to check out this pdf I designed that breaks each one down in more detail and gives suggestions on how to balance them.

I hope you found this information helpful. I invite you to tune into your own energy centers, and look a little deeper to see if you may be able to detect some blocks. It will help you balance and uplift your overall energy even more!

I wish you all the best with exploring your chakras, and send you much love & light!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s